User ID and password are required to enter the member's site.

Healthy Back Bag


TOP > About Chiropractic > Educational Standard

Educational Standard

About CCE (Council on Chiropractic Education)

The CCE (Council on Chiropractic Education) is an agency to assure excellence in chiropractic education and quality in the profession through accreditation. In 1974, the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE) was recognized by the US Office of Education then based on this accrediting model other regional CCEs were established in Australia-New Zealand, Canada and Europe. In the further growth and development of the profession across the world, the four established CCE-US (USA), CFCREAB (Canada, former CCEC), ECCE (Europe), CCEA (Australasia) have founded and developed CCEI ( Councils on Chiropractic Education International). In accrediting educational model, not less than 4200 student/teacher contact hours are required, or the equivalent, in four years of full‐time education. This includes not less than 1000 hours of supervised clinical training.

As primary contact health care practitioners, chiropractors recognize the importance of referring to other health care providers when it is in the best interests of the patient. In education to be a clinically competent chiropractor, following things are required. History taking skills, general physical examination, neurological examination, musculoskeletal assessment, psychosocial assessment, chiropractic adjustment (manipulation), patient file management, ethics, other conservative therapies etc.

Councils on Chiropractic Education International (CCEI)

Tokyo College of Chiropractic

Japan is currently under the CCEA's jurisdiction. Tokyo College of Chiropractic (former RMIT University Chiropractic Unit-Japan established in 1995) is the only accredited school by CCEA in Japan. The first accredited school in Asia and Japan's only accredited school.

Tokyo College of Chiropractic

About CSC programs

The Japanese Association of Chiropractors (JAC) has adopted the following policy in regard to the authorized condition of CSC (Chiropractic Standardization Course) program at the annual JAC Assembly on May 12th 2002.
The JAC subscribes the policy of the WFC that has approved "Prior Approval of Profession" at the 4th WFC Biennial Congress in Tokyo and amended at 6th biennial Congress in Paris as follows: First professional chiropractic programs in a country must only be established on the basis of prior consultation with and approval by the national association or other chiropractic organization recognized by the World Federation of Chiropractic as representing chiropractors in that country or, if there is no such national association or organization, the regional organization recognized by the World Federation of Chiropractic (Article 8). JAC approved CSC programs based on the WFC policy ends in 2012.

All JAC approved CSC programs ended in 2012

  1. RMIT university Chiropractic Unit-Japan/ JCA-Kikaku: BCSc (conversion)
  2. Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College / Nihon International Chiropractic College: CSC Certificate
  3. Murdoch university / KCS & Japan Federation of Chiropractic Professionals: BHSc (chiro)
  4. Institute of Therapeutic Manipulation Ltd. /International Chiropractic College: BCSc Diploma

*Following a discussion with WFC (World Federation of Chiropractic) at the meeting in 2011, JAC (Japanese Association of Chiropractors) membership criteria have been revised. Outside CCE standard full program graduates, all JAC approved CSC program graduates until 2008 are eligible to apply for being a full member without taking JCR (Japan Chiropractic Registers) test. All approved CSC program graduates from 2009 are required to take JCR test to apply for being a full member. All programs ended in 2012.